Clinical Research Network awards

We had successful nominations for the 2017-18 East Midlands Clinical Research Network awards. The COMIT’ID management study team, led by Prof Deborah Hall, with Dr Kathryn Fackrell, Harriet Smith, Dr Adele Horobin and our public research partners Veronica Colley and Brian Thacker won the ‘Putting Patients First’ award category. This was in recognition of involving people with tinnitus as equal partners in the study team, ensuring a strong patient voice.

Research Audiologist Krysta Siliris won the ‘Significant Contribution of Services Supporting Research’ category for boosting numbers of participants in hearing research. Krysta was at Nottingham for a short time but has left a legacy of sustainable recruitment strategies.

Dr Padraig Kitterick was runner-up in the ‘Above and Beyond’ category for his dedication to improving UK cochlear implantation services through research and helping people with profound hearing loss to take part.

The East Midlands Clinical Research Network is funded by the National Institute for Health Research and it supports research within 16 NHS Trusts and 19 Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs). The awards is an annual event to showcase and celebrate the achievements of everyone contributing to successful research in the region, including research-active organisations, patient and public representatives, clinicians, research staff and managers. For more information about the awards, go to: Videos of each finalist for the awards are available at:

Our team members at the awards evening

At the awards night, from left: Adele Horobin, Deborah Hall, Padraig Kitterick, Kathryn Fackrell, Harriet Smith, Veronica Colley and hearing dog Logan 

Padraig Kitterick on screen at the awards evening Members of COMIT'ID team on screen at the awards eveningDeb Hall on stage receiving an award on behalf of Krysta Siliris Krysta Siliris on screen at the awards evening